Monday, August 23, 2010

Run for the Fallen, Ogunquit Maine

A hero is someone who has given his or her life to something bigger than oneself.
                                                                         -Joseph Campbell

Yesterday was  the third annual Run for The Fallen. The run is a 65 kilometer run to honor the 64 men and one woman who have lost their lives since 9/11. I am honored to participate in this event. The event starts in Ogunquit village square and continues to Portland. At every kilometer there is a marker with the name of the soldier, rank, picture and biography. At virtually every marker, there is the family and loved ones. This is the hardest part of the race. I can run for 1, 2 or even 3 hours; but to see the loved ones at the kilometer marker is very emotional.

The run is organized by Ogunquit's John Mixon. Mixon brings family members of soldiers, runners and others together. Approximately 150 participated in this event. The event is not a race, but a run, with runners from all different levels. Some ran for one kilometer, others ran 5, 10 and 20. Today I did 23 kilometers.

Here is a list of the Fallen Heroes.

1 SPC Wade A Slack Waterville
2 SPC Matthew E Schneider Kittery
3 SGT Jeremiah Holmes North Berwick
4 1st LT Joshua Picard York
5 SPC Kyle A Little North Berwick
6 PFC Andrew Small Wiscasset
7 SSG Craig W Cherry Windham
8 SGT Nicholas A Robertson Holden
9 CW5 Sharon T Swartworth Litchfield
10 PFC Justin Kennie Cornish
11 CW4 Erik Halvorsen Richmond
12 SSG Dale J Kelly Jr Richmond
13 PFC Tyler J Smith Bethel
14 MAJ Jay T Aubin Skowhegan
15 SPC Dustin J Harris Patten
16 1SGT Christopher D Coffin Kennebunk
17 2LT Matthew S Coutu Cape Elizabeth
18 Blair W Emery Lee
19 Jason E Dore Moscow
20 Shawn C Dostie Lewiston
21 Daniel F Cunningham Lewiston
22 Lynn R Poulin Sr Freedom
23 SGT Joel A House Lee
24 SGT Corey A Dan Norway
25 CPT Patrick D Damon Falmouth
26 PFC Jordan M Brochu Cumberland
27 MSGT Evander E Andrews Solon
28 LCDR Robert E Clukey Orono
29 SSG William S Jackson Warren
30 CMDR Robert Schlegel Gray
31 MSG Robert M Horrigan Belfast
32 SGT Heath McMillin Biddeford
33 SPC Joshua U Humble Appleton
34 SGT Edmund W McDonald Casco
35 Sgt Joshua John Kirk Thomaston
36 CPT Benjamin D Keating Shapleigh
37 SPC Beau Beaulieu Lisbon
38 SFC Jonathon A Lowery Houlton
39 SSG Eric Ross Kenduskeag
40 CPT Christopher S Cash Old Orchard Beach
41 SGT Thomas J Dostie Sommerville
42 SGT Nicholes Golding Addison
43 SPC Joseph A Lucas Wiscasset
44 SPC Christopher S Merchant Bangor
45 SSG David Veverka Bangor
46 SPC Christopher M Wilson Bangor
47 LCPL Alexander S Arredondo Bangor
48 LCPL Cedric E Bruns Bangor
49 SSG Kristofer R Ciraso Bangor
50 MAJ Andrew J Olmsted Bangor
51 SGT Lawrence A Roukey Westbrook
52 CPL Brian M Kennedy Port Clyde
53 SGT Richard K Parker Phillips
54 CPL Dustin J Libby Presque Isle
55 SPC Justin L Buxbaum South Portland
56 LCPL Angel Rosa South Portland
57 SGT Jason W Swiger South Portland
58 LCPL Joshua Bernard New Portland
59 MSG Michael D Jones Unity
60 SGT Brandon Silk Orono
61 LT Jerry Smith Greenville
62 Eric Shaw Exeter
63 SPC Deon L Taylor Portland
64 CPT Daniel J Tranchemontagne Portland
65 SGT Christopher D Gelineau Portland


  1. my friend is on this list. CPT Benjamin Keating. He was an amazing person. Thanks for doing this for the fallen soldiers.

  2. Heather. You are welcome. Cpt Keating will not be forgotten. Its quite emotional to see the Km marker with the name, picture and the loved ones. Hopefully, the run will not be any bigger next year.

    Greg (gorio)